This program is set up to provide school fee assistance to support children from Gas, Petroleum and Mining project impacted areas to complete their tertiary education in PNG and are recognized by the National Training Council (NTC) and is recommended by the MRDC board. .

This Award:

  • Will cover tuition and boarding fees
  • Can be either a full or partial scholarship


MRDC recognizes that education is the single most powerful and effective investment that has the ability to drive positive change and improve the quality of life for the project impacted people and provide support to access tertiary education.

Priority Areas of Study

  • Trades
  • Science & Technology
  • Business & Economics
  • Tourism & Hospitality
  • Social Studies
  • Religion & Vocational Studies

Key Dates

  • 16th October 2023 – Education Subsidy Opens
  • 2nd February 2024 – Education Program Closes
  • 31st March 2024 – Announcement of successful applicants

Applicant Criteria

To be eligible for this scholarship award, the applicant has to meet these criteria:

1. Be a direct beneficiary

  • From Project area defined by the project MOAs
  • Tribe of origin
  • ILG or Clan

2. Application form has to be fully completed and supported or endorsed by the ILG/Clan Chairman.

3. Must complete Grade 12.

4. Must be an existing or is accepted to attend a government recognized tertiary education institution recognized by National Training
Council (NTC) and preferred by MRDC

5. Must have the minimum entry level qualifications if you are attending or is accepted to attend a technical trade or vocational

6. A Police Clearance Letter is optional at this time.

Eligibility Requirement

Applicant should:

1. Be a member of a beneficiary clan or ILG from any of the following resource project areas of:

  • Ok Tedi Mine Villages (MRSM)
  • Moran Oil Project
  • Gobe Oil Project
  • Kutubu Oil Project
  • PNGLNG Plant Site Villages
  • PNGLNG Pipeline Segment 1 – 7
  • Hides 4

2. Be an existing student in a tertiary institution or has been accepted to attend a tertiary institution;

3. Provide a Letter of Acceptance or a confirmation letter from the institution;

4. Provide a Character Reference Letter from any of the three:

  • Local Ward Councilor
  • Local Pastor
  • Local School Teacher

5. Applicants for technical, trades and vocational training must have a minimum entry – level qualification

Selection Process

The Selection Process for this program is as follows:

1. Registration

  • completed applications received will be registered

2. Vetting

  • Application will be vetted by the Scholarship Selection Committee who will ensure that the application is fully endorsed. Incomplete applications will not be considered.

3. Screening

  • After vetting is completed, successful application will be screened for selection.

4. Selection

  • Once the applicant is successful, an Offer Letter, Contract and Student Detail Form will be sent to the Successful candidate.

5. Confirmation

  • Only successful applicants will be contacted via email or telephone.

List of Preferred Institutions for 2024

1. Universities:

  • Divine Word University
  • Pacific Adventist University
  • PNG University of National Resources and Environments
  • PNG University of Technology
  • University of Papua New Guinea
  • Western Pacific University

2.Teacher Training Colleges

  • Balop
  • Dauli
  • Gaulim
  • Olsh Kabaleo
  • Madang
  • St. Benedict
  • Nazarene
  • Simbu
  • St Peter Channel College of Secondary Teacher Education
  • Sacred Heart
  • Holy Trinity
  • Sonoma Adventist College
  • Southern Highlands
  • Daulo FourSquare
  • Goroka

3. Nursing Colleges

  • Lutheran College
  • St Mary’s College
  • Enga College
  • Mendi Colleage
  • Highlands Regional College
  • Lae School
  • Nazarene College
  • Kupana CHW Training College
  • Rumgiane Nursing College
  • St. Barnabas School
  • St. Gerard School of Nursing
  • West New Britian School of Nursing
  • Kumin CHW Training College
  • Kundiawa Nursing School

4. Agriculture Institutions

  • Higlands Agriculture College
  • Bulolo Forestry College
  • Kavieng Fisheries College

5. Technical and Business Colleges

  • Don Bosco Technological Institution
  • Don Bosco Technical College
  • Madang Technical College
  • Mt Hagen Technical College
  • Goroka Technical College
  • Port Moresby Technical College
  • Kokopo Business College
  • Port Moresby Business College
  • Institute of Business Studies
  • International Training Institute
  • IEA College of TAFE
  • AOG Jubilee Institute of Higher Education
  • Kiunga Vocational Technical College
  • Caritas Business College
  • Pimaga TVET Center

6. Other Institutions

  • PNG Institute of Banking and Business Management
  • Christian Leaders Training College
  • PNG Institute of Leadership and Governance
  • PNG Human Resource Institute
  • Laws Bible Training College
  • Rarongo Theological College
  • PNG Maritime College
  • Pacific Maritime College
  • UOG Institute of Distance and Flexible Learning
  • ECPNG Igyaba Bible and Training Center
  • Omaura Adventist School of Ministry
  • Aiyura Aircraft- Maintenance Engineering
  • Simbu Unitect Satellite University
  • Pacific Training Institute (Technical College) Crane and Engineering
  • ACATECH Aviation Training College

How to Apply

Application Form 1: Gas and Petroleum Companies

Application Form 2: Mining Companies Only

For scholarship queries, contact us at